top of page

Blog

Green Bean Delivery Review

A little while back, Green Bean Delivery reached out to me to see if I would be interested in trying out their service and sharing my experience with my readers...of course I said yes! I have heard about them for awhile, but had not yet tried them out. So if you are interested in learning more about an awesome grocery delivery service option - keep on reading!

Green Bean Delivery Review

Price options: Boxes start as low as $20, but for free delivery, it starts at $35, check out more info on their bin sizes here.

Overall Value: I would give this a 4 out of 5 stars. Something I'll definietely try again.

What makes them different: I will note that it is different from HelloFresh and Blue Apron because they deliver the products and you can choose the amount of all of the food. So it is not a meal delivery service, but a food delivery service! Which is great for those of us that love to create and cook. They also source their food locally, which is great for so many reasons. It feeds into the local economy and supports local farmers.

Here is a great resource that tells you why Green Bean Delivery is different. They are a produce and food product delivery service, but not from your big box grocer. They deliver local produce and local products to your door. You can customize your box and decide exactly what you want in the box.

My Experience

Now for the review of my experience. To be clear, Green Bean gave me a credit and I was able to pick and choose what I wanted. I picked out the items on their website the week before. I wanted to try out some of their produce but then also have the chance to try out some local Indiana products that I haven't seen before. One of my favorite features of their website is that they have a tab just for Indiana products, so I can choose just from that if I wanted.

Once I had solidified my order I submitted it and they took care of the rest! It was a lot of fun getting to look through their site and see all that they had to offer. Then, on Wednesday I came home to two green boxes at my door!

First of all, I was pleasantly surprised how much food I was able to get for $50. I knew it would be a little more expensive than going to my own grocer, but I was satisfied with what I got for that much money.

What I got: B. Happy Peanut Butter, Gunthorp Ground Turkey, Amelia's Bakery Bread City Loaf, BeeFree Pizza Dough, Organic Broccoli, Organic Pears, Peppers, Yellow Onion, 3lbs of Apples, Organic Bananas, Brussels Sprouts, Mixed Greens, and Cauliflower. That's a lot, isn't it?

I had some frozen and refrigerated items and they were still cold or frozen when I got home. The boxes are insulated with foam and there was also an ice pack on the inside. That was comforting to know that it wasn't just sitting out warming up while I was still at work.

I was able to make so many meals with the produce and products I purchased. It was more than enough food for a week, it definitely lasted me into the next week.

Now I am a person that loves grocery shopping. I enjoy interacting with the employees, finding the best deals, and walking around my favorite stores (shoutout to Kroger in Carmel!). I would not want to ever give that up completely. However, this was a nice treat to be able to come home and already have food waiting for me. This would be perfect for me after a long business trip or vacation. I also really enjoyed getting to try some Indiana products, some that I may not have found otherwise.

I like this idea of grocery delivery more than the meal prep delivery. I am the kind of person that loves to create my own meals and recipes, so a pre-portioned experience was not for me. Whereas this option allowed me to still have the convenience of delivery but the freedom to cook what I wanted.

Overall, this is something I won't do every week but I will definitley order from them again. This is perfect for the busy traveler or for the person who doesn't like grocery shopping. Which I know a few of each of those kinds of people! I hope you give them a chance!

In the midst of trying new things,

Samantha

IN THE MIDST
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Google and Pinterest can be your best friend. Unsure of something? Type it in the search bar and go!

 

#2

Keep it simple. Some of the best recipes have the fewest ingredients.

 

#3

When in doubt, test it out. Try your new recipes on forgiving friends that are simply grateful for a free meal.

bottom of page