top of page

Blog

Dig IN, A Taste of Indiana

40 food stations. 1 day. Full stomach guaranteed.

This past weekend I had the pleasure of not only attending but also volunteering at Dig Indiana. It is a yearly event held where attendees get to try up to 40 different dishes from restaurants all over Indianapolis. It isn't a food truck rally where you have to pay for each thing you want to try…it is ALL included! So cool.

I found out about the event just through perusing some different foodie instagrams and found out I could volunteer and then get in for free (score! My budget appreciates that). Tickets are $40 but even after attending for free I would say that is a deal for all of the food offered.

Basically how it works is you receive a "passport" that lists all the restaurants and the food they are offering. When you go to each station there is a passport checker (my job) that marks off your passport. That way you try everything once. My job was working at Northside Social's station, and I think I got the best staff and chefs to work with! I had an absolute blast working with the restaurant and meeting hundreds of people that were as excited about food as I am! Northside's dish was Pulled Pork Mac 'N Cheese with Goat Cheese…. UH YUMMM. We had lots of people come back by our station later in the day and say this is the best thing they had tried. Aww…shucks.

Once I was all done with my shift, I was free to venture off and go try everything! By that time it was 1:30pm and it was HOT. But I was determined to continue on and try food. My fellow foodie friend Rachel (@FoodieIndy) and I took off and went to go try all the foods.

I can truthfully say that every dish I had was amazing. Great portions, great flavors, and great variety. I wish I had the chance to take more pictures but a few times I put it right in my mouth before there was a chance to get a shot! Whoops.

If it wasn't so hot I would have stayed longer, but it got to the point that I needed air conditioning, cold water, and a seat. Part of that was volunteering ahead of time but most of it was that it was SO DANG HOT.

Overall, it was such a wonderful experience, I can't wait to do it again! I would love to do Saturday setup next year and then have Sunday morning to go try the food. Or I would REALLLLY love it if it was later in the fall so it wasn't as hot (Hi Dig In board - I hope you read that!).

I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to try out some new menu items and learn more about the wonderful food scene of Indianapolis. I can't wait for next year!

In the Midst off working of all of the food consumed,

-Samantha

Save

IN THE MIDST
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Google and Pinterest can be your best friend. Unsure of something? Type it in the search bar and go!

 

#2

Keep it simple. Some of the best recipes have the fewest ingredients.

 

#3

When in doubt, test it out. Try your new recipes on forgiving friends that are simply grateful for a free meal.

bottom of page