top of page

Blog

Try It Out | Skillet Cookie

Do you ever discover a recipe that is almost so easy it is dangerous that you now know this treat can be made in just a few minutes? This recipe is that for me. Just a few ingredients prepared in a different way makes for a half-baked, fresh out of the oven cookie just waiting for my consumption.

When I make regular chocolate chip cookies I can bring them to work and I don't eat all of them. But this recipe is to be consumed in one sitting, or two if you have self-control. That's dangerous, but too delicious to deny.

If you have ever eaten at a BJ's and had a Pizookie or eaten any type of "pizza cookie" then you will understand the glorious feeling of eating a cookie fresh out of the oven with a nice big heaping scoop of ice cream on top. Which this is actually the ONLY time I like my ice cream to melt on my dessert, otherwise I like it on the side. But I digress.

What makes this recipe different than just making cookie dough and forming it into a cast-iron skillet is that you 1) melt the butter in the pan and 2) mix the ingredients all in one pan. Easier clean up - yes, please! The melted butter with the sugar makes for a great crust on the cookie while it still being gooey and delicious inside.

One Pan Chocolate Chip Cookie aka Pizookie

Serves 4

Original Recipe from Tasty Kitchen

  • 1/2 stick Butter

  • 1/4 c. Sugar

  • 1/4 c. Brown Sugar

  • 1 teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract

  • 1/2 whole Egg (scramble separately and mix in half)

  • 1/2 c and 2 T. cup All-purpose Flour

  • 1/4 t. Baking Soda

  • Pinch of Salt

  • 1/2 c. chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Turn your burner on medium and melt your 1/2 stick of butter in a cast iron pan. If you don't have cast iron, you could also melt the butter in the oven in a small cake pan. I've tried it both ways and it works!

2. Once it is all melted add in the sugars and vanilla.

3. In a separate bowl scramble one egg. Then you'll add half of it to the butter and sugar mixture. Make sure the butter and sugar mixture isn't too hot when you add it in!

(Click on the photos for more detail)

4. Then you'll add in the flour and depending upon the size of your pan you'll want to do this in batches. I used a tiny pan so in order to be able to mix it without getting flour everywhere, I did this in three batches. During the last bit of flour you add in, also add in the baking soda and salt. Keep mixing until you have a cohesive dough.

5. Last step before cooking is to add your chocolate! My dough was a bit warm so it started to melt the chocolate, which is totally ok!

6. Then you'll pop it in the oven for 12-15 minutes. It is done when it starts to brown on the edges but is gooey inside. YUM.

7. Now be careful when you go to eat this! The pan is going to still be incredibly hot. I serve mine with an oven mitt underneath it and either a towel or koozie covering the handle. You see, some use those things for a drink, but I would much rather put it to use by helping me up my chocolate consumption. It is just who I am.

I have made this recipe by halving and quartering it. The full recipe from Tasty Kitchen could technically serve 8, which means half of it would serve 4. I will fully admit that I have shared the "four person" pizookie with one other person (because we know how to do date night right - by over consuming chocolate). It is doable but you may have a stomach ache after that. What I did the next time around was quarter the recipe to make a "2 person" pizookie. We scraped that pan clean and it was plenty of dessert without feeling like we were in a sugar coma. Much better.

This delicious dessert is best consumed immediately but it does reheat well if you just can't bring yourself to finish it in one night. But I believe in you, I know you can do it.

In the Midst of Chocolate Dreams

-Samantha

IN THE MIDST
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Google and Pinterest can be your best friend. Unsure of something? Type it in the search bar and go!

 

#2

Keep it simple. Some of the best recipes have the fewest ingredients.

 

#3

When in doubt, test it out. Try your new recipes on forgiving friends that are simply grateful for a free meal.

bottom of page